

FLORIDACONFERENCE

1880-1889

1885

First church in Florida Conference territory was organized with 22 members after first series of evangelistic meetings by E. G. Rupert. It was located 10 miles south of Tampa, the forerunner of the present Palmetto Church.

1890-1899

1892

Members of Barberville and DeLeon Springs, for the first time in Florida Conference territory, erected a building specifically intended to be used as an Adventist church. All congregations prior to Barberville/DeLeon Springs gathered in existing facilities.

1893

Florida Conference was organized September 22 with six churches represented at a meeting held in Barberville. The Conference started with three ordained ministers, two licentiates, and 139 members. At the same time, members organized a tract society and a Sabbath School Association. L. H. Crisler was the first president.

1894

First Florida Camp Meeting and first regular constituency meeting were held in Tampa.

1910-1919

1913

Florida Conference membership was 744 with 27 churches.

1917

Florida Conference established an official headquarters on the corner of Rosalind Avenue and Robinson Street in downtown Orlando in a portion of the new Orlando Central Church.

1918

Lake Winyah Academy was founded in the vicinity of the Florida Sanitarium. It moved to Forest City and was renamed Forest Lake Academy in 1926.

1920-1929

1923

Florida Conference moved into a separate office facility on Rosalind Avenue adjacent to Orlando Central Church.

1928

First known Book and Bible House (Adventist Book Center) in Florida was located within the Conference headquarters on Rosalind Avenue in Orlando.

1930-1939

1932

The final stage of transferring membership of Florida's 10 westernmost panhandle counties to what is now Gulf States Conference was completed.

1950-1959

1950

Florida Conference Black churches were transferred to South Atlantic Conference, which reduced Florida Conference from 68 to 47 churches, and membership from 6,038 to 4,570.

1953

Camp Kulaqua began when a group of members purchased land in High Springs to be used for a youth camp. It serves as a year-round retreat, conference center, and summer camp.

1960-1969

1960

Florida Conference moved into the Rollins Avenue building across the street from Florida Hospital Orlando (now AdventHealth).



1962

Florida Conference reached 10,000 constituent members.

1965

Florida Living Retirement Community opened a short distance from Forest Lake Academy.

1970-1979

1970

Nursing Center was opened adjacent to Florida Living Retirement Community.

1976

Florida Conference reached 100 local congregations.

1978

Florida Spanish-language Ministries Department was organized.

1980-1989

1980

Florida Conference reached 20,000 constituent members.

1989

Women's Ministries directors were elected in each Florida Conference church, under the direction of Hazel Gordon, wife of the Conference president.

1990-1989

1990

The MagaBook literature evangelism program in Florida was started on January 4. It provides scholarship money for students as well as contacts with communities through Adventist literature.

1990

Florida Conference reached 30,000 constituent members.

1992

Florida Conference moved into the Wymore Road building in Winter Park.

1993

Florida Conference held its centennial celebration.

1996

Florida Conference reached 40,000 constituent members.

2000-2009

2000

Greater Miami Adventist Academy became a Florida Conference-sponsored institution on January 1.

2001

Florida Conference reached 50,000 constituent members.

2001

Florida Conference reached 200 local congregations.

2010-2019

2010

Florida Conference reached 60,000 constituent members.

2014

Florida Conference moved into present location on the corner of S. State Road 434 and West Town Parkway in Altamonte Springs.



2018

Conference-sponsored North Tampa Christian Academy opened on August 20, 2020.

2020-PRESENT

2020

There are presently just under 300 Florida Conference congregations and approximately 65,000 constituent members.

PRESIDENTS OF THE FLORIDA CONFERENCE

FLORIDA CONFERENCE

L.H. Crisler, 1893-1901

George Ide Butler, 1901-1904

C. B. Stephenson, 1904-1906

L. H. Crisler, 1906-1907

Rufus Wells Parmele, 1907-1912

W. H. Heckman, 1913-1917

R. Sandborn, 1917-1919

C. B. Stephenson, 1919-1921

J. L. Shuler, 1921-1926

A. S. Booth, 1926-1933

L. K. Dickson, 1933-1936

L. E. Lenheim, 1936-1941

L. C. Evans, 1941-1947

R. H. Nightingale, 1947-1954

Don R. Rees, 1954-1957

H. H. Schmidt, 1957-1965

W. O. Coe, 1965-1973

H. J. Carubba, 1973-1984

Malcolm Gordon, 1985-1990

Obed O. Graham, 1990-1997

Gordon Retzer, 1997-2000

Lewis Hendershot, 2000-2005

Mike Cauley, 2005-2018

Allan Machado, 2018-