

SOUTHERN ADVENTIST UNIVERSITY

1890-1899

1892

Graysville School (now Southern Adventist University) was founded by George W. Colcord in Graysville, Tennessee, with 23 students.

1900-1909

1901

The Southern Union assumed oversight of thencalled Southern Training School from the General Conference.

1910-1919

1916

Church and school officials bought Thatcher Farm and moved onto the piece of property in what was later named Collegedale. The following year, the institution became Southern Junior College.

1920-1929

1924

Southern Junior College built a new administration and classroom building, now known as Lynn Wood Hall, which remains the oldest inhabited building on campus.

1930-1939

1936

Southern Junior College gained accreditation with Southern Association.

1940-1949

1944

Southern Junior College was renamed Southern Missionary College in recognition of the institution's long-standing emphasis on missions.

1946

Southern Missionary College awarded its first baccalaureate degree.

1950-1959

1950

Southern Missionary College was accredited as a four-year college.

1950

A furniture factory, Southern's largest industry for working students, burned down. The insurance money was used to build a new plant that is leased to McKee Baking Company.

1960-1969

1965

Collegedale Church of Seventh-day Adventists was constructed on Southern's campus.

1965

Southern's board voted that students should be accepted regardless of race or national origin.

1967

Southern sent out its first official student missionary — Leslie Weaver, '69, who served in Panama for a year — and Wright Hall was built, providing offices for administration, a new cafeteria, and a student center.

1970-1979

1972

The Village Market opened in Fleming Plaza on Southern's campus.

1970-1979

1972

The Village Market opened in Fleming Plaza on Southern's campus.



SOUTHERN ADVENTIST UNIVERSITY

1980-1989

1982

Southern Missionary College becomes Southern College of Seventh-day Adventists and offered the first free fourth summer session (now SmartStart).

1990-1999

1993

Southern's first Martin Luther King Jr. Service Day was held, a tradition that continues today.

1995

Expanding to include a graduate program, SCS-DA was renamed Southern Adventist University.

1998

Southern awarded its first graduate degrees.

2000-2009

2001

Undergraduate enrollment reached a new record of 2,098, and Southern became the largest Adventist undergraduate institution in the North American Division.

2001

For the first time, students were able to earn an MBA degree from Southern entirely online.

2004

The Lynn H. Wood Archaeological Museum opened on campus; today it houses the largest teaching collection of ancient Near Eastern ceramics in North America.

2010-2019

2012

With an enrollment of about 3,000 students, Southern introduced the doctor of nursing practice degree program.

2014

Southern conferred its first doctoral degrees, the doctor of nursing practice.

2016

Southern marked the school's 100-year anniversary at the current location.

2017

Southern held a year-long 125th celebration recognizing how God led the institution since it was founded in 1892.



SOUTHERN ADVENTIST UNIVERSITY

PRESIDENTS OF SOUTHERN ADVENTIST UNIVERSITY

GRAYSVILLE ACADEMY

G. W. Colcord, 1892-1895W. T. Bland, 1896-1898

SOUTHERN INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL

W. T. Bland, 1896-1898 Charles W. Irwin, 1899-1900

SOUTHERN TRAINING SCHOOL

N. W. Lawrence, 1901J. Ellis Tenney, 1902-1905M. B. Van Kirk, 1906-1911C. L. Stone, 1912-1913Lynn H. Wood, 1914A. N. Atteberry, 1915

SOUTHERN JUNIOR COLLEGE

Leo F. Thiel, 1916-1917 Lynn H. Wood, 1918-1921 Leo F. Thiel, 1922-1924 H. H. Hamilton, 1925 Marion E. Cady 1926 Henry J. Klooster, 1927-1936 John C. Thompson, 1937-1941 Denton E. Rebok, 1942

SOUTHERN MISSIONARY COLLEGE

Kenneth A. Wright, 1943-1954 Thomas W. Walters, 1955-1957 Conard N. Rees, 1958-1966 Wilbert Schneider, 1967-1970 Frank A. Knittel, 1971-1982

SOUTHERN COLLEGE OF SEVENTH-DAY ADVENTISTS

John Wagner, 1983-1985

SOUTHERN ADVENTIST UNIVERSITY

Donald R. Sahly, 1986-1997 Gordon Bietz, 1998-2016 David Smith, 2016-2021 Ken Shaw, June 2021-