

SOUTHEASTERNCONFERENCE

1970-1979

1973

A Creole church was established in Miami, Florida, in what would become Southeastern Conference territory.

1980-1989

1980

J. A. Edgecombe was called to serve as the first Southeastern president on the eve of its official organization.

1981

The Southeastern Conference was officially organized with 8,511 members, 51 churches, 20 pastors, 5 church schools, 24 teachers, 12 literature evangelists, 2 associate publishing secretaries, and 1 Bible worker.

1981

James A. Edgecombe was elected as the first president (1981-1988) of Southeastern Conference. Under his leadership, the membership grew to 14,247 members in 80 churches.

1982

Southeastern Conference Hispanic Ministries was officially organized. Pilgrims Spanish Church-Hialeah was its first Spanish church.

1983

When Southeastern Conference began operations in 1981, the campground was shared between Southeastern and South Atlantic conferences. In 1983 the conferences agreed that Southeastern would continue to operate the campground, and South Atlantic would establish a campground within its territory.

1986

After five years of renting, Southeastern purchased an office building in Altamonte Springs, Florida, for its headquarters.

1988

Jackson M. Doggette served as Southeastern Conference's second president (1988-1994). Under his leadership, the conference membership grew to 21,093 members in 102 churches.

1988

Southeastern Conference reached 20,000 constituent members.

1990-1999

1980

Women's Ministries Department was established in Southeastern Conference.

1994

Roy R. Brown served as president (1994-1999) of Southeastern Conference. Under his leadership, the conference membership grew to 27,268 members in 128 churches.

1999

Willie L. Taylor served as president (1999-2008) of Southeastern Conference. Under his leadership, the conference membership grew to 29,706 members in 128 churches.

2000-2009

2001

Services at Southeastern Camp Meeting were live-streamed for the first time.



SOUTHEASTERNCONFERENCE

2002

Filipino-American International Church-Avon Park was established as Southeastern broadened its diverse membership.

2003

Southeastern Conference headquarters were moved to Mt. Dora, Florida.

2003

Southeastern Conference reached 30,000 constituent members.

2005

Southeastern purchased a campground in Alachua County, Florida.

2006

Southeastern Conference celebrated its 25th anniversary and the 60th anniversary of regional conferences.

2008

Hubert J. Morel served as president (2008-2016) of Southeastern Conference.

2010-2019

2010

Southeastern Conference reached 40,000 constituent members.

2010

Established a Human Resource Department that works directly under the Office of the Secretariat.

2011

Southeastern Conference paid off its mortgage on the office complex in Mt. Dora.

2015

Hired two full-time female pastors, Lindsay Syeh and Yvette Parham.

2016

Gregory O. Mack was elected president of Southeastern Conference (2016-2020), and served until his passing November 10, 2020.

2016

Southeastern Conference reached 50,000 constituent members.

2020

Southeastern Conference TV was officially launched.

2020

The current president is Michael Owusu.

2021

There are presently 175 Southeastern Conference congregations and approximately 58,000 constituent members.

PRESIDENTS OF THE SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE

SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE

J.A. Edgecombe, 1981-1988 Jackson M. Doggette, 1988-1994 Roy R. Brown, 1994-1999 Willie L. Taylor, 1999-2008 Hubert J. Morel, 2008-2016 Gregory O. Mack, 2016-2020 Michael K. Agyei Owusu, 2020-