

# 1870-1879

#### 1871

The first Seventh-day Adventist minister to preach in what is now the Southern Union Conference was Elbert B. Lane, who was sent in March 1871 to Edgefield Junction, Tennessee, to visit and baptize a small group of converts won through reading Adventist publications. Lane returned in May 1873, baptized seven, and organized a church of 13 members. The earliest recorded evangelistic meetings in Kentucky began in 1871. These meetings were presented by Squier Osborn, later the first president of the Kentucky and Tennessee Conference.

#### 1873

In what is now the Kentucky-Tennessee Conference, Squier Osborn organized the first church in Locust Grove, Kentucky.

#### 1876

The first conference organization was the Kentucky and Tennessee Conference. Squier Osborn was the first president. The conference only lasted three years.

#### 1878

Julia A. Owen, wife of G. K. Owen, served as a licensed minister from 1878 to 1895.

#### 1879

Kentucky and Tennessee Conference was divided into two conferences. Squier Osborn became president in Kentucky and G. K. Owen in Tennessee.

# 1880-1889

#### 1882

Kentucky had two ordained ministers, two li-

censed ministers, five churches, and 84 members. Tennessee had one ordained minister, three licensed ministers, and five churches with 54 members.

#### 1883

The Tennessee Conference president, S. Fulton, held meetings in Leach, Tennessee. Opponents to Adventist teachings burned down his tent to the ground and threatened him with bodily harm. Fulton continued preaching in the open air. Friends came with a volunteer guard of 12 armed men, gave offerings for a new tent, and built a log church. Two months later, he held the Tennessee Camp Meeting in the new tent and organized a church.

#### 1885

A series of prosecutions of Seventh-day Adventists began at the Springville, Tennessee, Church under the State Sunday law. In the 1880s and 1890s, nearly every man in the Springville Church was convicted and sentenced to fines or imprisonment. Some were required to perform road labor on a chain gang.

#### 1889

The Tennessee River Conference was organized with E. E. Marvin as its first president. The Conference included roughly the western half of both Kentucky and Tennessee. The eastern half of both states became the Cumberland Mission.

### 1890-1899

#### 1891

Tennessee River Conference had two ministers, seven chuches, and 172 members.



# 1900-1909

#### 1906

Under the personal direction of Ellen G. White, E. A. Sutherland, and P. T. Magan founded Madison Sanitarium and Madison College.

#### 1908

Conference changes were made to the Tennessee River Conference and Cumberland Conference. The Kentucky Conference was formed which consisted of Kentucky, except for eight counties in the southwest which remained in the Tennessee River Conference. The Cumberland Conference was reduced to eastern Tennessee alone. This left the Tennessee River Conference with 15 churches and 408 members. Kentucky Conference had 14 churches and 263 members.

#### 1909

Three Tennessee counties (De Kalb, Smith, and Macon) were transferred to the Cumberland Conference.

# 1920-1929

#### 1922

Six Kentucky counties (Trigg, Christian, Todd, Logan, Simpson, and Allen) were added to the Tennessee River Conference.

# 1930-1939

#### 1932

The Kentucky Conference and the Tennessee River Conference were combined to form the Kentucky-Tennessee Conference, headquarters in Nashville, Tennessee. This Conference included all of Kentucky and the western portion of Tennessee. It began with 2,562 members, 43 churches, 10 ordained ministers, and 4 licensed ministers. The annual tithe was \$41,262.

#### 1940-1949

#### 1942

The Conference had grown to 4,326 members, 54 churches, and 18 ordained ministers.

#### 1946

Camp Meeting was moved to Highland Academy where it remains today.

# 1950-1959

#### 1956

Conference had 5,338 members, 71 churches, 34 ordained ministers, 15 licensed ministers, 46 church schoolteachers, and 21 colporteurs. The tithe was \$547,470.

# 1959

Kentucky-Tennessee Conference purchased 34.5 acres for a youth camp on Center Hill Lake near Smithville, Tennessee.

#### 1960-1969

# 1960

The first Junior/Youth camps were held at Indian Creek Camp. The Conference office building on Gallatin Road and Shepherd Hills Drive was built around 1960 and was the Conference headquarters for the next 20 years.

#### 1960

The year closed with 6,333 members, 77 churches, 32 ordained ministers, 7 licensed ministers, 38 teachers, 16 full-time colporteurs, and \$738,851 in tithe.

#### 1963

Three new junior academies were built: Memphis and Nashville, Tennessee, and Louisville, Kentucky.



#### 1963

The Adventist Book Center erected a new building on the campus near Madison Academy and Madison Hospital.

# 1970-1979

#### 1970

The Conference began the year with 6,813 members, 70 churches, and 5 companies. K. D. Johnson was the president.

#### 1980-1989

#### 1980

The present Conference office location was dedicated on January 6. It was the only building on the then new street, so it was named Conference Drive. Membership was 9,085, 79 churches, and 6 companies. A. C. McClure was the president.

#### 1981

Clayton R. Farwell became president of the Conference.

# 1985

Clinton L. Shankel became Conference president.

#### 1990-1999

# 1992

Richard R. Hallock became president of the Kentucky-Tennessee Conference.

# 1998

On March 18, the Executive Committee voted Carmelo Rivera as the first Hispanic coordinator for the Kentucky-Tennessee Conference. He was also the pastor for Nashville Hispanic Church.

#### 1999

Conference constituency voted to rebuild the youth camp facilities.

# 2000-2009

#### 2001

Ten new cabins were completed debt-free at the youth camp.

#### 2005

A new wing was added to the Indian Creek Camp Cafeteria that consisted of a larger kitchen and dining area.

### 2009

Steve L. Haley became the new conference president.

2010-2019

#### 2010

On May 15, a grand opening ceremony was held for the new auditorium at Indian Creek Camp.

#### 2017

The Kentucky-Tennessee Conference had 15,305 members, 99 churches, and 11 companies.

# 2019

At Indian Creek Camp, a new horse barn was built, RV spaces were added, and renovations and updates on the 21-year-old cabins began.

#### 2020-PRESENT

#### 2020

Currently, the Kentucky-Tennessee Conference has 15,860 members, 100 churches, and 15 companies.



# PRESIDENTS OF THE KENTUCKY-TENNESSEE CONFERENCE

# **KENTUCKY AND TENNESSEE CONFERENCE**

Squier Osborn, 1876-1879

# **KENTUCKY CONFERENCE**

Squier Osborn, 1876-1879

# **TENNESSEE CONFERENCE**

G. K. Owen, 1879 Samuel Fulton, 1883

# **TENNESSEE RIVER CONFERENCE**

E. E. Marvin, 1889

# **KENTUCKY CONFERENCE**

Unknown, 1908

# **KENTUCKY AND TENNESSEE CONFERENCE**

C. L. Butterfield, 1932-1934

V. G. Anderson, 1934-1937

C. V. Andreson, 1937-1943

T. L. Oswald, 1943-1946

W. E. Strickland, 1946-1954

R. H. Pierson, 1954-1956

E. L. Marley, 1956-1969

K. D. Johnson, 1969-1977

E. S. Reile, 1978

A. C. McClure, 1978-1980

Clayton R. Farwell, 1981-1984

Clinton L. Shankel, 1985-1992

Richard R. Hallock, 1992-2009

Steve L. Haley, 2009-